Music Tasmania announces new Chair and Board Appointments

Music Tasmania recently held its Annual General Meeting where the Board of Directors were appointed for 2020-21.

After a four-year term, Tony Fox is handing over the role of President and Chair of Music Tasmania to Rhys Richards.  

“It's been a great honour to have served as Chair of the Music Tasmania Board of Directors and to assist such a vibrant and inspiring industry that punches well above its weight,” said Tony. “I am proud of our accomplishments and confident that we will continue to grow and expand our impact through Rhys’ leadership.”

"I would like to acknowledge the strong support of my fellow Board Members during my time as Chair and thank our funding partners for their commitment to the Tasmanian music industry". 

Rhys Richards is a Hobart-based music industry professional and part of the management team at APRA AMCOS and OneMusic Australia.

After studying classical music at Monash University in Melbourne, Rhys went on to play keyboards and synthesizers in a band, recording and touring extensively and performing on a range of festival programs including Splendour in the Grass, St. Gerome’s Laneway Festival, Falls Festival, Southbound Festival, Meredith Music Festival, Golden Plains Music Festival, Secret Garden Festival, Sugar Mountain, Melbourne International Arts Festival and MONA FOMA. 

Rhys has also worked in the film and television industry and is credited on a number of feature film and documentary projects.

Experience in both the film and music industries exposed Rhys to the backdrop of copyright and creator’s rights, and in 2016 he completed a graduate law degree, a Juris Doctor at RMIT, and joined the ranks of APRA AMCOS where he now specialises in the area of copyright. 

In March 2018, Rhys relocated to Hobart and has since fostered meaningful relationships with local industry and key government agencies. Rhys is a passionate advocate for the rights of musicians and improving ways for them to derive income from their work. He brings to Music Tasmania first-hand experience as a musician with publishing and record deals, management contracts and band agreements, and through his recent work an understanding of the nexus between copyright, live performance, festivals and events, and online revenue streams.

Rhys joins returning Board Members Tim Lane (Treasurer), Gerald Englebretsen (Secretary), Mary Shannon, Alf Favell, Aeron Clark, Cody Webberley, and Tony Fox.

We are also pleased to welcome Emily-Rose Wills to the Board of Directors. Emily-Rose is an emerging artist and arts administrator who completed her Bachelor of Contemporary Arts (UTAS) in Launceston in 2015. Her interdisciplinary arts practice responds to place and identity, exploring the relationship between the individual and geographic location.

Emily-Rose has dedicated her working career to the Tasmanian arts and events industry and is currently engaged with Mona Museum and Mona Foma in the role of Program Administrator.

For more information about Music Tasmania’s Board of Directors, visit:

Share this page:

Artists in Tasmania

Find more artists